Unemployed Science, Engineering and Technology Graduates Required to Volunteer in the DST’s National Youth Service Programme

Unemployed Science, Engineering and Technology Graduates Required to Volunteer in the DST’s  National Youth Service Programme

Unemployed Science, Engineering and Technology Graduates Required to Volunteer in the DST’s  National Youth Service Programme
The South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA), a business unit of National Research Foundation (NRF),on behalf of the Department of Science and Technology (DST) invites all unemployed science, engineering and technology graduates (18 to 35 years of age) to volunteer their services towards the implementation of the Youth in Science Strategy under the auspices of the National Youth Service Programme. Volunteers will be deployed for a period of up to 12 months at participating organisations that collaborate with the DST in its youth development programmes.  A stipend will be paid to volunteers per month as follows: National Diploma NQF Level 6 (R 4 000), Bachelor’s Degree / B.Tech NQF Level 7 (R 4 500), Honours NQF Level 8 (R 5 000), Masters NQF Level 9 (R 6 000), and PhD NQF Level 10 (R 7 200).
Vacancies exist and become available during the year at a variety of organisations in all nine provinces. Interested youth, who meet the requirements, are invited to submit a covering letter indicating why they want to volunteer, in which province they currently reside and the province of their choice. Candidates should also include curriculum vitae, certified copies of ID and qualifications, and all their contact details.
To submit via post please use the address below:
Human Resource Volunteer Department
South African Agency for Science and Technology Advancement (SAASTA)
1st Floor Didacta Building
211 Nana Sita Street
Or you can email your detailed CV’s to: viwe@saasta.ac.za and bongiwe@saasta.ac.za
Closing date: 31 December 2024
Only shortlisted candidates will be notified of the screening outcomes. Candidates who have not been contacted within three months after the closing date should consider their applications unsuccessful. All travel and relocation costs will be for the candidates’ own expenses.
For enquiries please contact:  Bongiwe Mahlangu Tel: (012) 392 9300
Participating Host Institutions
Eastern Cape
Department of Education (DoE), Mthatha
Fort Hare School of Science & Technology Discovery (FOSST), Alice: Ft Hare
Mathematics Science & Technology Education (MSTE), King Williams Town at Zwelitsha
Nelson Mandela Bay Science & Technology Centre, Port Elizabeth
Sci-Fest, Grahamstown
Sasol Inzalo Foundation,Comfimvaba
Mothibistad Science Centre
Siseko Group (MST Skills Development)
Maths Science Leadership Academy (MSLA)
Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University (NMMU)
Free State
Ikaheng High School
Agricultural Research Council (ARC), Bethlehem
Lenyora La Thuto Secondary School, Botshabelo – Bloemfontein

Academy of Science of South Africa (ASSAF), Pretoria
Agricultural Research Council (ARC), Pretoria
Arcellor Mittal Science Centre, Sebokeng
Council for Scientific & Industrial Research (CSIR), Pretoria
CV Chabane and Associates, Pretoria
HartRAO, Krugersdorp
JNF Walter Sisulu Environmental Centre, Pretoria
Sasol Inzalo Foundation,Johannesburg
Johannesburg City Parks, Johannesburg
Mintek, Randburg
Moipone Academy, Tembisa
National Research Foundation ,Pretoria
Mondi Group, Johannesburg
National Science and Technology Forum (NSTF), Pretoria
National Zoological Garden (NZG), Pretoria
The South African Nuclear Energy Corporation (NECSA), Pretoria
Thandela Consulting, Pretoria
Tshwane University of Technology (Robotics), Pretoria
Reuben Dlamini Foundation, Johannesburg
South African Agency for Science & Technology Advancement (SAASTA), Johannesburg and Pretoria
South African Mathematics Foundation (SAMF), Pretoria
South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI), Johannesburg
Sci-Bono Discovery Centre, Johannesburg
Sci-Enza Science Centre, Pretoria
Square Kilometre Array (SKA), Johannesburg
Underdeveloped Graduate into Science, Pretoria
University of Johannesburg Science Centre,Soweto
Walter Sisulu Environmental Centre, Johannesburg
Arcellor Mittal Science Centre, Newcastle
Isibusiso Esihle Science Centre, Kwangwanase
Jive Media Africa, Pietermaritzburg
KZN Science Centre, Umhlanga Rocks
Mondi Group, Pietermaritzburg
Mary Help Primary School, Ixopo
Nkomose Comprehensive High School, Ixopo
South African National Biodiversity Institute (SANBI), Pietermaritzburg
University of KwaZulu-Natal Science Centre, Durban
University of Zululand Science Centre, Richards Bay
Moses Kotane Institution
Bokamoso Science & Technology Centre (Bostec), Bochum
Giyane Science Centre, Giyane
National Zoological Gardens, Mokopane
Vuwani Science Centre, Thoyandou: Venda
University of Limpopo Science Centre, Turfloop: Polokwane
Phalaborwa Foundation,Phalaborwa
Anglo SCG & ICT Resource Centre, Witbank/Emalahleni
Mondi Science Centre, Piet Retief
Osizweni Education & Development Centre Secunda, Embalenhle
Mondi Group,Piet Retief
MSTA Academy Main Hub
North West
North West University Science Centre, Potchefstroom
North West University Science Centre, Mafikeng
Northern Cape
Maths & Science Learning Academy (MSLA), Kimberley
Mothibistad Science Centre, Mothibistad
SA Astronomy Observatory,Sutherland
Western Cape
Arcellor Mittal Science Centre, Saldanha/Vredenburg
Cape Town Science Centre, Cape Town
iThemba Labs, Somerset West
South African Astronomical Observatory (SAAO), Cape Town
Science Learning Centre for Africa – UWC, Cape Town
South African National Space Agency (SANSA), Hermanus: Cape Town
Square Kilometre Array,Cape Town
Stellenbosch University Botanical Gardens

for more and how to apply click here